Our Blog

Latest news and updates from HostingXtreme

Please forward this to your CEO, because this is urgent. Thanks – Suspicious Mail

Posted by at HostingXtreme on Comments Off on Please forward this to your CEO, because this is urgent. Thanks – Suspicious Mail

We often receive mails from our clients regarding a suspicious mail which was received by them from some Chinese company called Asia Registry or something similar which sounds authoritative. This article aims to clarify what this mail is about and why you should not respond to it and treat it as junk.

The mail in question:

From: “Albert Liu” <[email protected]>
Subject: (clients domain name) CN domain and keyword
To: (the domain name holder)

(Please forward this to your CEO, because this is urgent. Thanks)

We are a Network Service Company which is the domain name registration center in Shanghai, China. On Jan 8, 2015, we received an application from Huabao Ltd requested “(client’s domain name)” as their internet keyword and China (CN) domain names. But after checking it, we find this name conflict with your company name or trademark. In order to deal with this matter better, it’s necessary to send email to you and confirm whether this company is your distributor or business partner in China?

Kind regards

Albert Liu
General Manager
Asia Registry (Headquarters)
3002, Nanhai Building, No. 854 Nandan Road,
Xuhui District, Shanghai 200030, China
Tel: +86 21 6191 8696
Mobile: +86 138 1642 8671
Fax: +86 21 6191 8697
Web: www.asiaregistry.org.cn

What is this mail really about?

This mail is basically just spam mail, which is being sent to you to scare you into believing that you may lose your domain name or somebody else is trying to use your trade mark. The ultimate aim is to get you to respond to them, and show interest in purchasing the .cn variant of your domain name from them. Eg: If you own garbagelogistics.com then they will suggest that someone is trying to register garbagelogistics.cn and to prevent them from registering it, you should book it first.

How did they get my email address?

They mostly looked up your email address from the public WHOIS record of an existing domain name that you own.

What should I do with the mail? Should I respond to it?

Do NOT respond to the mail. Just delete it.

Read more here:

  • https://www.welivesecurity.com/2012/07/24/asia-domain-name-scams-still-going-strong/

Comments are closed.